PDA

View Full Version : Installing a hotdish90

Bellboy
07-08-2011, 07:52 PM
Ok I need some help on the install of this dish. I do want to add a motor in the future.
hotdish90 offset dish, Standard ku lnbf. openbox S10
for starters. :greed:
How long of a pole do I need? I do know that pole must be leveled.

Thanks for the help in advance.

el bandido
07-08-2011, 08:17 PM
Have you already got a spot picked out to install this dish?
Picking a spot for the dish should be one of the first things to do. If you have obstructions or think you have obstructions, you can calculate how they may affect you by using the Satellite Antenna Alignment program found in the link.

[Only registered and activated users can see links]

Bellboy
07-08-2011, 08:28 PM
Thanks el, I downloaded the file
I have a spot picked out which I think will work. I have a tripod for a dish in the shed maybe I can hook things up temp so I can find the best spot. I'm a newb at this lol I'm going to ask all the dum :omfg: ?'s I have lmao. This should be fun. :bigahh:
I want to do this install step by step so other members can learn as well.

Thanks for the help.

el bandido
07-08-2011, 09:32 PM
IMO, No questions are dumb when a person is trying to learn.

Setting the dish on a temporary tripod has lots of advantages. You can move the dish around and see what satellites are available at a given location. In a way, this is extra work but it may save you from digging a hole and planting a dish pole that you need to move.

For me, a good motor pole will be about 2.5 inches in outside diameter. It will be black steel pipe with a schedule 40 wall thickness. I expect my ku motor poles to hold up to 50 pounds of weight.

Motor poles can vary in length. Here in Atlanta and the surrounding area, we have a clay type of soil so digging down real deep and using a lot of concrete is not really necessary. 2.5 to 3 Feet deep is about as far as I care to dig for a ku motor pole.